How to use Secure Erase on your Windows PC

  • Solution ID:1059146
  • Last Updated:Jan. 09, 2020 1:18 AM (PST)
  • Applies to:Antivirus+ Security - 2019;Antivirus+ Security - 2020;Internet Security - 2018;2019;2020;Maximum Security - 2018;Maximum Security - 2019;Maximum Security - 2020;Premium Security - 2018;Premium Security - 2019;Premium Security - 2020;
  • How to use Secure Erase on your Windows PC | Trend Micro Security

Learn how to use the Secure Erase feature of your Trend Micro Security software to delete files and prevent deleted files from being recovered.

The Secure Erase feature is exclusively available for these versions:

  • Premium Security
  • Maximum Security
  • Internet Security

Turn ON Secure Erase

  1. Open the main console of your Trend Micro Security software by doing either of the following:
    • Double-click the Trend Micro icon on your desktop.
    • Right-click the Trend Micro icon on your system tray (near the clock).
  2. Click Data.

    Main_Console_Device_Trend_Micro_Security

  3. Click Configure.

    Secure_Erase_Trend_Micro_Security

  4. Click OK when the introduction window appears.

    Secure_Erase_Introduction_Trend_Micro_Security

    Tick Don't show this introduction again before clicking OK, if you don't want the Introduction window to appear everytime you access Secure Erase.

  5. Drag the slider to ON to turn on Secure Erase.

    Secure_Erase_Off_Trend_Micro_Security

  6. Select the Type of Erase that you want to use.

    Secure_Erase_On_Trend_Micro_Security

  7. Click OK to save your settings.

    Secure_Erase_Okay_Trend_Micro_Security

Delete with Secure Erase

  1. Right-click the file or folder you wish to delete.
  2. Select Delete with Secure Erase.

    Secure_Erase_Delete_with_Secure_Erase_Trend_Micro_Security

When you delete a file, Microsoft Windows just removes the directory information used to find it. The actual data still remains on your hard drive, and potentially available to someone with recovery tools.